RSS

When I read Dickinson

10 Sep

The monkey hangs down the creepy long greens

Amidst the sun kissed leaves

Through the spotted rains

Through the blues of the sky

While Emily Dickinson warms my bed

And the speckled dust hugs my window panes

I question life and death and possibility and probability

I think about her life of seclusion; her life of reservation; of death and of disease

Of words and letters;

I hug my knees

And smugly smile

At the similarity and duality of lives across centuries

I could read a poem and relate to the poet

I could live her life through her work

And see her dreams through her eyes

I could live the melancholy of her life

And the rapturous joy in her life

I could live multiple lives

In a lone solitary life

I could live a million lives

In a lone solitary life!

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2012 in My tryst with poetry

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “When I read Dickinson

  1. Janet Kralovec

    September 13, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    Very insightful and lovely. janet kralovec (one of MODPO students)

     
  2. Sarvani Chowdhury

    October 3, 2012 at 10:00 am

    really naice…a feel-good poem!!!!

     
  3. Medusa

    October 4, 2012 at 12:57 am

    “I could live a million lives, in a lone solitary life!” How beautiful! I have always been a fan anyway.

     
  4. peculiaritiesandreticences

    November 11, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    Terrific work!! (from a fellow ModPoian).

     

Leave a comment