RSS

The cry of a foetus!

07 Apr

Securely I lie huddled in my mother’s womb
Happily I dream
Of the day I will place my tiny feet out
On the face of this earth
Of the verdant green
Of the blazing sun
Of the golden daffodils
Whispering to me

Voices I hear
Shaken I feel
Unspoken words, unfinished tasks
The edge of a steely blade
The rigid contours of the human mind
Scared and Appalled
Is this the world I fathomed?
Is this the world am destined to enter?

Slaughtered and butchered
My tiny face puckers into a coverlet of tears
The innocent me refuses to surrender
To give up
To die
With the last of my effort
I cry out to the unconcerned, cruel world
Let me live
Let me dream
Let me not die

How I wish I were a male
How I wish I could feel the pincers clutching on to my legs
Pulling me out to witness the world of beauty, of glory
Alas! I am a wretched female
A wretched female I wish to be
In my next life
In the nine lives to come

Knives I see
Blades I see
Blood I see
They deem me a stillborn
I deem myself murdered and throttled
I shall come back yet another day
I shall come back through yet another womb

Thou shall see me fight and fight
To make my sex known
To make myself known
To defy all odds
And make you ponder
How I wish I had let her live
How I wish I had let her dream
How I wish I had let her fly

 
19 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2011 in My tryst with poetry

 

19 responses to “The cry of a foetus!

  1. amrita89

    April 7, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    nyc portrayal of the unheard voice !

     
  2. Diana Sahu

    April 7, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    Wow Shruti. Loved the description and the way U rhymed the desperation of the foetus. Sadly, however stringent our norms against sex determination and female foeticide are, things are far from changing until the mindset changes.

    Good writing.

     
  3. Shruti Parija

    April 7, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    Thanks Diana. The stringent norms have definitely lessened the rate of female foeticide but a lot is still left to be done.Lets hope the might of the pen helps 🙂

     
  4. Mahendra Dash

    April 11, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    good poem. could be better with some editing on voca.

     
    • Shruti Parija

      April 13, 2011 at 9:30 pm

      Thanks.I am learning with each post 🙂

       
  5. Girish Mony

    April 13, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    Nice Poem. As you said this is getting lessened day by day. In fact in future, you may hear the same poem for male

     
    • Shruti Parija

      April 13, 2011 at 9:26 pm

      haha for males!a century or two before that actually happens 🙂 Glad you liked it!

       
  6. Mahendra Dash

    April 13, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    Would u like to receive an edited version of ur poem ?

     
  7. Arti

    April 14, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    A soul stirring poem, the idea put across in an excellent way, loved it 🙂

     
  8. Mahendra Dash

    April 14, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    Some corrected and some at suggestion level due to paucity of time.

    The cry of a foetus!
    Securely I lie huddled (ensconced) in my mom’s womb
    Happily I dream
    Of the day I will place my tiny feet out
    On the face of this mother earth
    Of the verdant green ( Do u really emphasize (verdant) green green or u can add any noun as u have used in the lines following below
    Of the soothing sun ( blazing sun doesn’t have a positove connotation)
    Of the golden daffodils ( people related the regions of daffodils don’t comprehend female foeticide)
    Whispering to me
    Voices I hear
    Shaken I feel
    Unspoken words, unfinished tasks
    The sharp edge of a steely blade (razor)
    The rigid contours of the human mind (psyche)
    Scared and Appalled
    Is this the world I fathomed (cherished !!)?
    Is this the world am destined to enter?
    Slaughtered and butchered
    My tiny face puckers into a coverlet of tears
    The innocent me refuses to surrender
    To give up
    To die before being born
    With the last of my effort
    I cry out to the unconcerned, cruel brethern
    Let me live life
    Let me dream
    Let me live for myself..
    How I wish I were a male
    How I wish I could feel the pincers clutching on to my legs
    Pulling me out to witness the world of beauty & glory
    Alas! I am a wretched female
    A wretched female I wish to be
    In my next life
    In the nine lives to come
    Butchers I see
    Blades I see
    Blood I see
    They deem me a stillborn
    I deem myself a bud , nipped
    I shall be back yet another day
    I shall be back through yet another womb
    Thou shall see me fight and fight
    To make my sex known
    To make myself known
    To defy all odds
    And make you ponder
    How I wish I had let her live
    How I wish I had let her dream
    How I wish I had let her fly free

     
    • Shruti Parija

      April 18, 2011 at 1:46 pm

      Thanks a lot for taking the effort to edit it.I’d like to include ensconced.As for daffodils,its an emphasis on the beauty of the earth,based on Wordsworth’s very famous “host of golden daffodils”.A razor is seldom used to snap the umbilical cord and its not about the world she cherished..I meant the world she imagined 🙂
      I really appreciate your effort though 🙂 Do keep visiting the blog!

       
  9. Geeta

    April 18, 2011 at 10:11 am

    Good job. Thanks for sharing!

     
    • Shruti Parija

      April 18, 2011 at 1:40 pm

      Thanks a lot Geeta!This was inspired by a street play I had witnessed.

       
  10. Mahendra Dash

    April 19, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    End of the day it’s ur baby :))

     
  11. Sarojini Sahoo

    May 5, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    If the came out from mother’s womb inadvertently, some are fed dry, unhulled rice that punctured their windpipes, or are made to swallow poisonous powdered fertilizer. Others are smothered with a wet towel, strangled or allowed to starve to death.
    Their destiny is death, because they are girls.
    Nice written poem, Shruti, carry on.

     
    • Shruti Parija

      May 6, 2011 at 10:43 am

      As despicable as the mentioned acts sound, its sad that people do not realize the value of the girl child, especially in far flung, rural areas.The challenge is to bring about a change in mindset.
      Thanks a lot Maa’m.Coming from a writer of your repute, it means a lot to me.

       
  12. Neeraj Sharma

    September 5, 2011 at 2:27 am

    “I shall come back yet another day
    I shall come back through yet another womb” – simple and powerful…these two lines made the whole poem impactful…and I can hear the Cry of the Foetus

     

Leave a Reply

 
