RSS

Obsessive Fine Print Disorder

31 Dec

It is that time of the year when your facebook wall is pasted with tons of Happy messages, some staid, some funny & some so full of intent! I dissect the ramifications of all the incidents of the year gone by, in my head & wonder, whether one full year has just gone past. To me, it is still the same. But if I have taken anything from the previous year, it is dreams!
Que lindo es sonar despierto”! How lovely is it to dream while you are awake, says Andre Agassi’s coach to inspire him to train harder, to train equally well for the clay courts & to win the French Open! For a guy who hit a million balls every year, till his twenty second, inspiration ought to come naturally. That is not how he thinks. And it makes me realize the importance of SELF-motivation.
This brings me to my obsession for the fine print. I love relating to the content that books carry. I happen to be like a kid in a candy store when I enter a book shop or a book fair or anything related to the magic four letter word B-O-O-K. People think of ways to make a grand entry into yet another year, one that will be synonymous with the weaving of dreams, of hopes, of aspirations! For me, this year is going to be the best I’ve ever had, because I spend it with Agassi, not because he is the greatest tennis player of all times, but because he hated tennis like mad, like crazy, ever since he was made to hit balls from a dragon like structure, day in & day out. Ever since he was four!
For the first time, I realize the significance of how lonely it gets, when you strive to reach the zenith. The whole process, the making of a legend!
I have had surreal experiences when it comes to relating to a character, right since I was a kid. I was surrounded with The Famous Fives, The Secret Sevens, elves, gnomes and tons of other fairy tale characters. Often, I used to wake up with a start because I dreamt about being inside a paneled underground tunnel which opened into the woods. At times, I used to imagine myself in cold, dark dungeons, kidnapped by the evil witch & at others, hatching a plot to discover the secret treasure hidden up in a tower, which had winding,creaky steps to it. One image which is particularly etched in my mind, is that of the white manes of the sea horses likened to the white foam like substance crowning a sea wave. I still picture myself riding a sea horse when I am at a beach.
As I grew up, elves were replaced by the super mysteries of Nancy Drew & Hardy Boys.
I almost wanted to be a CBI official until I discovered the intricacies of the reproductive system, which made me consider a gynecologist as a profession! 😀
Don Michael Corleone , Florentyna Roznovozki, Howard Roark, Dominique Francon, Liz & Danny Taggart have changed the way I look at life. The Eureka moments have come and gone by, where you suddenly understand yourself a wee bit better because you could never articulate that funny aspect of your own self, which the writer has done so beautifully!
Non fiction has been nothing less than a hair raiser, to say the least! The Obamas, Abraham Lincoln, Abdul Kalam, Oprah Winfrey, E R Braithwite, Martin Luther King, Lance Armstrong…I hope the list never comes to an end! It makes me cringe at times & smile at others. The ethereal second, when all you want is a happy ending like in the movies, when you forget eating & sleeping just to keep taking that journey into what seems fictional but stands for veracity, to the last page, to the last morsel! I have derived inspiration from the likes of Buffet & Armstrong in the same breath. How else can one be called the “Oracle of Omaha” and another roughen it out through cancer and yet win the Tour De France, thrice. There is a thread which connects the lies of great men & women. The thread is the Secret- a book I consider my bible! The Secret, which attracts what you believe in like a powerful magnet, like Rhonda Byrne did, like you and me have the power to!
Reading gives me solace akin to none. There is no greater happiness than being born with what I call the Obsessive Fine Print Disorder 🙂
Happy Reading!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2010 in Print Speak

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Obsessive Fine Print Disorder

  1. Arun

    December 31, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    Perfect! You made my day. oh wait. You just made my year! I don’t know much about Agassi, but what I know is, you’re very close to riding your sea horse. Wish you get everything you have ever wished for. Keep writing, keep rocking!

     
    • shrutiparija

      December 31, 2010 at 10:23 pm

      Thanks a lot Arun.Glad to know that I made your day 🙂

       
  2. aprajita

    January 4, 2011 at 7:47 am

    gud.. made me smile for u..atleast somethings keeping ur mind off the things happening in ur world.
    keep reading..

     
    • shrutiparija

      January 4, 2011 at 10:11 am

      Thanks dear!If it hadn’t been for books, I would have been history by now 😛

       

Leave a Reply

 
