RSS

Jammed

29 Dec

The corner of my eye feels damp
A wiry stream of salt finds its way down my flushed contours
Swiftly burgeoning into a deluge
Blessing my parched lips with the brackish, eerily familiar fluid
And I stand still, rooted to the ground
Unable to contain myself
Like a puppet in the hands of fate
Like wet clay in the hands of the Divine!

Solace I find in poetry
The likes of Thoreau & Tennyson make me wanna give life one more shot
The last jump…the last fall
My muscles twitch…my hands tremble
My wobbly legs threaten to give away

But the unflinching alter ego comes alive
Did you just try and walk off the edge like a lemming?
Arent you destined to live beyond a life of quiet desperation?
The world is your oyster
Wait till it comes alive
Hang on for that extra mile

O me, O life!
O Captain, My Captain!!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2010 in My tryst with poetry

 

8 responses to “Jammed

  1. harsh raj

    December 30, 2010 at 2:24 am

    O Captain, my Captain…seize the day.

     
  2. shivaji

    December 30, 2010 at 6:01 am

    this was a fantastic positive expression. life has so much to give but due the situational imbalance people tend to conclude according to that moment.every day which passes takes away bad luck, grief,distress and lot of all that bad aspects of life in installments. thinking according to the present situation with the background of the past will not help you in creating a happy future. live life p3 size.

     
  3. shrutiparija

    December 30, 2010 at 8:09 am

    @Harsh… aye aye!Hugely influenced by a movie called the “Dead Poets Society”.
    @Raju Bhai…I guess so.P3 size 🙂 Sure…thats the silver lining at the moment!

     
  4. Rachit

    December 30, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    I need not say anything to this blog or to the BLOGGER…because saying anythng would simply be an understatement to this inspiring work of language,thoughts and observation..great work..u ahve a long,winding road ahead with this..keep walking..
    Cheers..

     
    • shrutiparija

      December 30, 2010 at 5:29 pm

      Thanks Rachit.Hope the winding road leads to a worthwhile destination 🙂

       
  5. Avishek

    December 31, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    No doubt about it that we are….
    “Like a puppet in the hands of fate
    Like wet clay in the hands of the Divine!”….but it is up to us how we handle it…

    ““God places the heaviest burden on those who can carry its weight.”..

     
  6. Avishek

    December 31, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    Great work…!

     
    • shrutiparija

      December 31, 2010 at 3:07 pm

      Thanks Avishek.The wishes of the Divine are least known to us & best intended for all of us!

       

Leave a Reply

 
